Department of Mathematics

Numerical Analysis Seminar: The Top-Ten Computational Algorithms in Science and Engineering

Please note that this page is old.
Check in the VVZ for a current information.
Dozenten Daniel Kressner, Manuel Torrilhon
Ort HG E 33.5
Zeit Do 15:15-17:00
Vorbesprechung Do 21.02.2008
Beschreibung In 2000, Jack Dongarra and Francis Sullivan published a list of arguably the top ten algorithms of the (previous) century. Each of these algorithms had a profound impact on science, leading to an abundance of variations and extensions. The aim of this seminar is to present entries from this list and discuss the mathematical principles behind the algorithms.

Talks can be given in German or English, using the blackboard or a projector. Before the seminar, the slides or a handout (in case of a blackboard presentation) must be shown to the lecturers.
 Termine 13.3. Monte Carlo method (Claudia Spellecchia)
20.3. Quicksort (Mattia Bergomi and Patric Müller)
3.4. and 10.4. Simplex algorithm (Nicole Andri and Reto Hobi)
17.4. and 24.4. FFT (Jesco Jung and Stefan Wörner - pdf, pptx)
8.5. Stoermer-Verlet (Floriano Crivelli)
15.5. QR algorithm (Katia Grasic)
22.5. Fast multipole algorithm (Daniel Vetter)
29.5. Krylov subspace techniques (Anastasia Filimon)
Literatur The top ten list

Overview articles describing the entries of the top ten list


Wichtiger Hinweis:
Diese Website wird in älteren Versionen von Netscape ohne graphische Elemente dargestellt. Die Funktionalität der Website ist aber trotzdem gewährleistet. Wenn Sie diese Website regelmässig benutzen, empfehlen wir Ihnen, auf Ihrem Computer einen aktuellen Browser zu installieren. Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf
folgender Seite.

Important Note:
The content in this site is accessible to any browser or Internet device, however, some graphics will display correctly only in the newer versions of Netscape. To get the most out of our site we suggest you upgrade to a newer browser.
More information

© 2016 Mathematics Department | Imprint | Disclaimer | 6 June 2008